Tripura all district name

tripura all district name

New list of Districts after the reorganization

GomatiUdaipur1. Udaipur 2. Amarpur 3. Karbook
UnakotiKailashahar1. Kumarghat 2. Kailashahar
North TripuraDharmanagar1. Dharmanagar 2. Kanchanpur 3. Panisagar
South TripuraBelonia1. Santirbazar 2. Belonia 3. Sabroom

Former administrative structure

CodeDistrictHeadquartersPopulation (2011)[1]Area (km²)Density (/km²)[1]Official website
NTNorth TripuraKailashahar693,2812,821341http://northtripura.nic.in/
STSouth TripuraUdaipur875,1442,152286http://southtripura.nic.in/
WTWest TripuraAgartala1,724,6192,997576http://westtripura.nic.in/


The following is a list of the basic demographic data for the districts of Tripura based on the size of the district’s area, arranged in descending order[1] (The data input here is taken from 2011 Census; however, the new four districts were formed in 2012 so information on those are of 2012.)

DistrictArea in km2PopulationGrowth RateSex RatioLiteracyDensity/KM
South Tripura1,534.2433,73714.1595685.09283
North Tripura1,444.5415,94617.4496888.77288
West Tripura942.55917,53412.5797291.69973

The Indian state of Tripura borders with Bangladesh and the Indian states of Assam and Mizoram. The third-smallest state in India and also a princely state till 1949, It covers an area of 10,491 square kilometres (4,051 sq mi). The area of modern Tripura was ruled for several centuries by the Tripuri dynasty. It was a princely state during British rule, and joined the newly independent India. Ethnic strife between the indigenous people and Bengali population led to tension and scattered violence since its integration into the country, but the establishment of an autonomous tribal administrative agency and other strategies have led to peace. Tripura was divided into four districts but with effect from 21 January 2012 four more new districts was divided making a total of eight districts in the state.


Dating back to the time of Mahabharata, the very helm of the Kingdom of Tripura encompassed the greater part of Eastern Bengal stretching from the Bay of Bengal in the South to the Brahmaputra in the North and west and Burma, now Myanmar in the East. The earliest trace of the history of Tripura can be found in the Ashokan pillar inscriptions. The 17th century is a major watershed in the history of Tripura when the administration of the region passed on the hands of the Mughals with some powers left with the Manikyas. In the Colonial era, the Britishers extended their control over Tripura granting some limited independence to the Manikya kings. The region was under the rule of the Twipra Kingdom for centuries, although when this dates from is not documented. The Rajmala, a chronicle of Tripuri kings which was first written in the 15th century, provides a list of 179 kings, from antiquity up to Krishna Kishore Manikya (1830–1850),:3 but the reliability of the Rajmala has been doubted. The Royal history of Tripura ended when the princely state acceded to the Indian Union on 15 October 1949. After death of the last king Maharaja Bir Bikram Kishore Manikya on 17 May 1947, a Regency Council was formed headed by Maharani Kanchan Prabha Devi, for aid of the minor Prince, Kirit Bikram Kishore Manikya Bahadur. The regent signed the merger agreement with the Government of India. After merger Tripura became a Part ‘C’ State. On reorganization of the states, effected in November, 1956, Tripura became a Union Territory with an Advisory Committee to aid and advise the Chief Commissioner. Thereafter in place of the Advisory Committee, a Territorial Council was formed through the adult franchise on 15 August 1957. On 1 July 1963, the Tripura Territorial Council was dissolved and the Legislative Assembly with the existing members of the Territorial Council was formed. On 21 January 1972 Tripura became full-fledged State by the Act of Parliament called the North Eastern Areas (Reorganization) Act, 1971.

West Tripura Pin Code

Pincode Details
Agartala Aerodrome799009Tripura
Agartala College799004Tripura

Updated: August 17, 2019 — 10:49 pm

The Author


Note:- sarkariresultindia.org is now the India No. 01 Jobs Website. . Government Jobs information. Sarkari Naukri , Sarkari Jobs, Our aim is to provide All Jobs information. Inquiry- [email protected]